Church is situated overlooking the spectacular village of
Clonegal and the picturesque valley of the Derry River. The
present Church was built in 1819 on the site of a former
Church and the graveyard around it has gravestones dating
from 1777. The Church was built in the Gothic style with
Tower and Belfry and under the supervision of Mr. John Bowden,
Architect. The parish embraces parts of Counties Wicklow,
Wexford and Carlow.
Three double stained glass windows depict the Good Samaritan, a scene from
the Good Shepherd and the third window depicts the Resurrection scene.
In July 1821 a meeting of parishioners of St. Fiaac's was held and it stated
that the parishioners wished to subscribe to the building of a new Roman Catholic
Church in the parish of Clonegal.
On 22nd July 1945 the Consecration of the graveyard extension took place- made
possible by the good will and generosity of Denis Doyle.
In February 1989 an extension was added to the Church car park- made possible
by the generosity of the Hickey family.
A new turnstile was erected in 1989 by George Rothwell to give easier access
to the Church grounds for the many visitors who call to view the church and
ancient burial ground or to visit the graves of relatives who rest there.
In 1992 a ramp was built leading from the new car park.
In July 1993 the parishioners painted the interior and exterior of the Church.
A new coping and path were laid from the middle gate to the steps leading to
the main door and standard lamps were erected.
Reverend Trevor Sargent
Sunday Morning 10.15am
For Weddings, Funerals, Christenings and other services
Rev. Trevor Sargent at 053 937 7652
provided by Rachel Warren